Quick Answer
In E6010, the final 0 identifies the high-cellulose sodium coating and its conventional DC electrode-positive (DC+) operating family. It does not specify the maker’s formula, amperage, or every option for a named product. Before ordering, verify the exact diameter’s current and polarity on the manufacturer’s sheet and check the customer’s machine and welding procedure.
Key Takeaways
- The classification guide associates the final 0 with high-cellulose sodium covering and DC+.
- A named E6010 product may list additional size-specific settings; these do not apply to every E6010.
- The classification digit does not provide a current range or approve a change to a welding procedure.
What Does the Final Zero Mean in E6010?
E identifies an electrode for shielded metal arc welding (SMAW). The 60 indicates a 60,000 psi minimum deposited-weld-metal tensile-strength class under classification test conditions; the 1 identifies an all-position class.
The final 0 identifies the high-cellulose sodium coating and associated DC+ current in Lincoln Electric’s classification guide. It does not disclose a manufacturer’s coating recipe or coating percentages.
Nor does 0 mean zero slag, gas or hydrogen. It says nothing about rod diameter, pack count, amperage or a completed joint’s strength. AWS A5.1/A5.1M:2025 covers carbon-steel covered electrodes; use the edition specified in the buyer’s contract.
Which Current and Polarity Should a Buyer Verify?
DC+ means direct current with the electrode positive (DCEP). Verify that the customer’s power source supports the required setup. An AC-only machine should prompt a procedure review, not an unsupported promise that ordinary E6010 will run on AC.
Manufacturer-specific exceptions matter. Lincoln’s Fleetweld 5P E6010 page lists DC- settings for selected smaller diameters while listing DC+ first as preferred; larger listed sizes do not all show DC- settings. That example does not authorize DC- for another brand, size or approved procedure.
| Known from classification | Still to verify | Buyer action |
|---|---|---|
| Final 0: high-cellulose sodium; conventional DC+ | Any additional polarity allowed for the named brand and diameter | Request the current manufacturer’s sheet; do not transfer another product’s settings. |
| 1: all-position class | Pass, direction, size and procedure restrictions | Match the offered rod to the qualified welding procedure. |
| 60: deposited-metal tensile-strength class | Additional project testing or joint requirements | Request the exact supporting evidence specified by the tender. |
| No amp range in the last digit | Diameter-specific ranges and machine behavior | Check product data and trial the intended machine and joint. |
What Does the Coating Mean for Jobsite Selection?
A cellulosic E6010 is associated with a forceful arc and selected open-root work. Lincoln describes deep penetration, light slag and vertical/overhead capability for its Fleetweld 5P; these are claims for that product, not promises for every E6010.
Check the actual joint, base material, fit-up, operator technique and inspection plan. A rod useful on an approved pipe-root pass is not automatically suitable for a thin section or a clean-appearance job.
E6010 is not a low-hydrogen classification. Do not substitute it where the project specifies low-hydrogen consumables. Inspect coating condition after transport and follow the offered manufacturer’s handling instructions rather than borrowing another electrode family’s baking schedule.
How Should an Importer Write the E6010 RFQ?
Start with the customer’s application and approved welding procedure. Specify the offered product rather than relying on a classification label or a catalog example.
RFQ checklist:
- Classification and governing edition: identify the exact AWS designation and any contract-specific edition so compliance can be checked.
- Pass, position and procedure: describe the intended joint and permitted consumables so a root-pass quote is not treated as universal approval.
- Machine, polarity and diameter: identify equipment limitations and requested rod sizes so the supplier can supply applicable operating guidance.
- Named product sheet and sample: request diameter-specific polarity/current information and a representative trial unit so settings are not copied from another maker.
- Length, quantity and packaging: state net pack weight, inner packs and carton markings so quotations cover the same delivered quantity.
- Lot identification and required documents: specify any current-batch evidence, safety data sheet and storage guidance so deliveries remain traceable.
Request a specification-based sample quotation against the customer’s actual machine and procedure.
Compare any alternative brand under the same approved test conditions. Classification alone does not prove equivalent arc behavior or project acceptance.
Buyer FAQ
Does the last 0 give an amperage setting?
No. Request the current range for the exact product and diameter, then check it against the approved procedure and equipment.
Can an AC-only customer use E6010?
Do not assume so. Confirm the machine and procedure; consider a procedure-approved alternative rather than silently substituting another classification.
Does one product’s DC- setting apply to all E6010 rods?
No. A maker’s additional size-specific setting applies only as documented for that product and does not change another supplier’s instructions.
Is E6010 a low-hydrogen electrode?
No. Check the project’s specified classification and handling requirements instead of treating cellulosic E6010 as interchangeable with low-hydrogen rods.
Inquiry: Send the machine type, required polarity, diameters and document requirements through your usual inquiry channel to discuss an E6010 sample and quotation.

Request a Wholesale Quote:Whatsapp : (+86 15632245103) E-mail : ganzhedao@gmail.com